Forge to defend CPL crown against ‘written-off’ Wanderers

Article content continued

“We just need to be aggressive in what we do. When we’re aggressive, we score goals.”

Anchored by veteran David Edgar and fellow centre-back Daniel Krutzen, Forge’s back line is undeniably among the best, as well. And it’ll be up to Edgar, Krutzen & Co. to thwart what has been a fired-up HFX attack led by six-goal man Akeem Garcia, the league leader in strikes, and talented teammate João Morelli. The pair has combined for 10 goals in P.E.I., and Garcia and Morelli would best find a way to score Saturday to combat the Forge offence, which has found the net more times (17) than any other club at The Island Games.

“It’s a final,” Hart added. “Everyone on the field is basically going to match up somehow. Usually a final is a cagey affair. It’s going to be a situation where small margins can make the difference. Hopefully, we can keep our errors to a minimum … and stay focused and concentrated. If you can get that right, you give yourselves a fighting chance.

“It should be good.”


The Golden Boot will be awarded following Saturday’s finale, likely going to one of two HFX talents.

Garcia leads the league with six goals, and fellow HFX attacker Morelli has posted four.

The nominees for the four other league awards were announced Friday: Golden Glove as the league’s top goalkeeper — Callum Irving (Pacific FC), Triston Henry (Forge), Christian Oxner (HFX); Coach of the year — Hart (HFX), Smyrniotis (Forge), Mista (Atletico Ottawa); Player of the year — Garcia (HFX), Bekker (Forge), Marco Bustos (Pacific); and under-21 player of the year — Mo Farsi (Cavalry), Chrisnovic N’sa (HFX), Julian Dunn (Valour FC).

Leave a reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>